Committee Bylaws

As per the PLFSOM Faculty Bylaws (Article IX, Section C.2) the faculty committee with primary responsibility for the curriculum is the Committee on Curriculum and Educational Policy, commonly referred to as the Curriculum and Educational Policy Committee (CEPC).

Faculty Bylaws Article IX, Section C.2

a. Membership: The Curriculum and Educational Policy Committee (CEPC) is composed of 15 voting members (eleven (11) faculty and four (4) students) and 10 non-voting advisory members (six (6) faculty/staff and four (4) students.

The following are voting members of the CEPC:

  • Associate Dean for Medical Education (chair)
  • Two (2) College Mentors
  • Four (4) Clinical Sciences Faculty
  • Four (4) Basic Sciences Faculty
  • Four (4) Student Curriculum and Evaluation Committee (SCEC) Representatives

The following are non-voting, ex-officio advisory members of the CEPC:

  • Assistant Deans for Medical Education
  • Managing Director, TTUHSC-EP Medical Libraries
  • Associate Vice President for Information Technology (or designee)
  • Associate Dean for Student Affairs
  • Chair, PLFSOM Committee on Diversity (or designee)
  • Four (4) Student Curriculum and Evaluation Committee (SCEC) Representatives

College Mentors basic sciences faculty, and clinical sciences faculty are appointed for four (4)-year terms.

There shall be eight (8) student members of the CEPC (four (4) voting and four (4) advisory) designated from and by the Student Curriculum and Evaluation sub- committee, with one (1) voting and one (1) advisory member representing each of the four (4) student cohorts (MS1-MS4). These student members are elected or reaffirmed annually by each class.

b. Leadership: This committee will report to the Faculty Council. The Associate Dean for Medical Education shall serve as chair of this committee.

c. Charge: The CEPC is charged with the development, design, implementation, management, monitoring, integration, review, evaluation, and revision of the undergraduate medical education curriculum to ensure continuous quality improvement.

The committee’s responsibilities are to:

  • establish, review and approve the PLFSOM education program goals and objectives (PGOs);
  • design, manage, and evaluate the undergraduate medical education program to ensure the PGOs are met in accordance with the mission and vision of PLFSOM;
  • establish performance standards and criteria for student evaluations of faculty teaching;
  • establish performance standards required for student promotion and graduation;
  • advise the Dean on resources required to support the curriculum

The CEPC has the authority to set educational policy; establish education requirements; establish and approve curricular content; ensure curricular integration, coordination and coherence; allocate curriculum time; establish teaching and assessment methods; and evaluate educational outcomes or the organization of the curriculum with the concurrence of the Dean and with comment and input from the Faculty Council. The Faculty of the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine has the responsibility to define course objectives, create and deliver content to meet those objectives, and modify their activities in response to appropriate feedback from peers and students. The Committee will provide updates on its activities at least twice a year to the Faculty Council. In order to accomplish the mission of the Committee, the Chair may appoint subcommittees that can include members who are not members of the Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the Committee to coordinate the activities and reports of these PLFSOM Faculty Bylaws 20 Revised 12/14/20 subcommittees