



43rd Annual Conference Texas Association of Advisors for the Health Professions

Hosted by

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine



February 9—11, 2012
Camino Real Hotel
El Paso, Texas

Schedule of Events

Thursday, February 9

10:00—4:30	Registration: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor		
10:00—1:00	JAMP JFD Meeting: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Paul Hermesmeyer, JAMP Coordinator		
1:00—2:00	Introduction and New Advisors' Workshop: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Moderator: Diana Comuzzie, PhD, Dean, School of Sciences and Mathematics Schreiner University		
2:00—3:00	Experienced Advisors' Workshop: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Moderator: Member at Large Candidate		
3:00—3:15	Break: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor		
3:15—4:00	Ethics and Professionalism as a pre-professional student David Jones, Ph.D, UTHSCSA College of Medicine Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Moderator: Member at Large Candidate		
4:00—4:30	Spotlight Session Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor New Horizons in Nursing Education Josie Lujan, PhD, RN, Associate Professor and Dean, Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing, TTUHSC-El Paso Moderator: Member at Large Candidate		
5:00—7:00	PLFSOM Bus Tour: Ground level front entrance lobby, 1st floor		
7:00	Reception: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor		

Friday, February 10				
8:00—12:00	Registration: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor			
7:00	Exhibitor Set-up: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor			
7:30—8:30	Full Breakfast: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor			
8:00—5:00	Sponsors and Exhibitors Open: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor			
8:30—8:40	Opening Session: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Opening Remarks: Diana Comuzzie, PhD, TAAHP President Introductions: Manuel Schydlower, MD, Associate Dean, Office of Admissions, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Welcome: Jose M. de la Rosa, MD, Founding Dean, PLFSOM			
8:40—9:30	Keynote Address: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Competencies in Pre-Med Education Henry M. Sondheimer, MD, Senior Director Academic Affairs, AAMC Moderator: Manuel Schydlower, MD, Associate Dean, Office of Admissions, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine			
9:30—10:10	Integrated Medical Curriculum PLFSOM: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd Floor David J. Steele, PhD, Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Moderator: Manuel Schydlower, MD, Associate Dean, Office of Admissions, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine			
10:10—10:30	Break: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor			
10:30—11:15	Updates: TMDSAS and Baylor College of Medicine Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Budge Mabry, Director of TMDSAS TBD—Baylor Moderator: Chair Elect Candidate			
11:15—12:00	Competency Based Medical Education—What are the Challenges and Opportunities? Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Robert V. Blystone, PhD, Professor of Biology, Trinity University Moderator: Chair Elect Candidate			
12:00—12:45	Lunch: Grand Ballroom A/B, 2nd Floor			

Friday, February 10 <i>continued</i>				
12:45—1:30	TAAHP Business Meeting: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor			
1:30—3:30	Professional Updates in Concurrent Session: 3rd floor (Sessions listed following schedule)			
3:30—3:45	Break: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd floor			
3:45—4:30	Dental Deans Panel: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Barbara Miller, DDS, Director of Recruitment and Admissions, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Baylor College of Dentistry Phil Pierpont, DDS, Associate Dean of Student Affairs, University of Texas Dental Branch at Houston Adriana Segura, DDS, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, School of Dentistry Moderator: Karen Hudson			
4:30—5:00	Physician Assistant Panel: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Carl Fesser, PA-C, Baylor College of Medicine Ed Maxwell, MPAS, MS, PA-C, Regional Dean Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Hank Lemke, MMS, PA-C, Chairman and Associate Professor, University of North Texas Health Science Center Lucy Bonnington, PA-C, UT Health Science Center San Antonio P. Eugene Jones, PhD, UT Southwestern Medical Center Frank Ambriz, PA-C, University of Texas—Pan American Moderator: Tim Raabe			
6:30—7:00	Reception: Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd Floor			
7:00—9:00	Banquet: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd Floor			

Saturday, February 11				
7:30—8:30	Full Breakfast with Medical Students : <i>Grand Ballroom A/B, 2nd floor</i> Moderator : <i>Tyra Montgomery</i>			
8:30—8:40	Opening Session: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Diana Comuzzie, PhD			
8:40—9:15	Pharmacy Deans Panel: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd floor Lisa Bentley, M.Ed., Director of Recruitment and Retention Milton, Texas Southern University, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Moderator: Carolyn Bouma			
9:15—9:30	Break Grand Ballroom Foyer, 2nd floor			
9:30—10:15	2 Year/4 Year/Medical School Pathways: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd Floor Loyd Poplin, PhD, Del Mar College Alan Vince, PhD, University of Texas San Antonio Marilyn Banta, PhD, Texas State University Kim Peck, MD, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center—Lubbock Joel Daboub, MBA, UNTHSC-TCOM Moderator: Jackie Reynolds			
10:15—11:30	Medical Admissions Deans Panel: Grand Ballroom C/D, 2nd Floor Joel Daboub, University of North Texas HSC Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Kim Peck, MD, Texas Tech University HSC School of Medicine Filo Maldonado, Texas A&M HSC College of Medicine David Jones, PhD, University of Texas HSC San Antonio School of Medicine Judianne Kellaway, MD, University of Texas Medical School at Houston Jim Wagner, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School Lloyd Michael, MD, Baylor College of Medicine Manuel Schydlower, MD, Texas Tech University HSC Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Jeffery P. Rabek, PhD, University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine Moderator: Karen deOlivares			
11:30	Conference Closing			

Professional School Updates

All rooms on the 3rd floor

1:30 - 1:55	2:00 - 2:25	2:30 - 2:55	3:00 - 3:25				
Angus Room—3rd Floor							
MD/MPH	Graduate Programs and Career Opportunities	Allied Health (OT, PT, Speech, PA)	Advanced Nursing Practice				
Dr. Theresa Byrd	Dr. Charles Miller	Dr. Lyndsay Johnson	Dr. Josie Lujan,				
Professor—Foster SOM	Associate Dean for Research	Assistant Dean	Dean TTUHSC Gayle Greve Hunt SON				
	Foster SOM	TTUHSC, SAH					
Moderator:							
1:30 - 1:55	2:00 - 2:25	2:30 - 2:55	3:00 - 3:25				
	Brahma Roor	m—3rd Floor					
Podiatric	Chiropractic	Optometry	Veterinarian				
ТВА	ТВА	TBA	ТВА				
Moderator:	,						
1:30 - 1:55	2:00 - 2:25	2:30 - 2:55	3:00 - 3:25				
	Charolais Roo	m—3rd Floor					
Allied Health (OT, PT, Speech, PA)	Advanced Nursing Practice	MD/MPH	Graduate Programs and Career Opportunities				
Dr. Lyndsay Johnson	Dr. Josie Lujan,	Dr. Theresa Byrd	Dr. Charles Miller				
	Dean TTUHSC	Professor					
Assistant Dean			Associate Dean for				
. 1551555111 2 5411	Gayle Greve Hunt SON	Foster SOM	Research				
TTUHSC, SAH			Foster SOM				
Moderator:							





TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Office of Admissions

> 5001 El Paso Drive, Ste. 3314 El Paso, Texas 79905 (915) 783-1250

http://www.ttuhsc.edu/foster/som