

## TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER EL PASO

**Operating Policy and Procedure** 

HSCEP OP: 01.07, Organization of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso

PURPOSE: The purpose of this Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El

Paso) Operating Policy and Procedure (HSCEP OP) is to present the organization of TTUHSC El Paso. This is required as a part of any university's operation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). The organizational chart attached (Attachment A) presents visually the organization of

TTUHSC El Paso.

**REVIEW:** This HSCEP OP will be reviewed on December 1 of each year by the president's designee

and chief financial officer, with recommendations for revisions submitted to the president

by December 15.

## POLICY/PROCEDURE:

I. Authority.

- A. The Legislature, Chapter 109.001 (c) of the Texas Education Code, delegates to the Board of Regents (BOR) the governance, control, jurisdiction, organization, and management of the Texas Tech University System (TTU System).
- B. Section 109.23 of the Texas Education Code directs the BOR to "provide a chief executive officer, who shall devote his attention to the executive management of the University and who shall be directly accountable to the Board."
- II. **Board of Regents.** TTUHSC EI Paso is governed by the TTU System BOR, whose nine members are appointed to six-year terms by the Governor of the State of Texas; the terms of office of three regents expire every two years. A non-voting student regent is also appointed for a one-year term (June 1 to May 31) by the governor, as specified in the Texas Education Code (§§51.355). The BOR is legally responsible for the establishment and control of the university's policies.

TTUHSC El Paso is a separately accredited university under the direction, management and control of the TTU System BOR.

- III. **Chancellor.** The chancellor is the chief executive officer of the TTU System and is appointed by the BOR to direct the institutions and to carry out policies determined by the regents.
- IV. **TTUHSC EI Paso President.** The president, through the chancellor, serves as the chief executive officer of TTUHSC EI Paso. The president oversees the educational, fiscal, operational and research programs of TTUHSC EI Paso. The President is charged with developing, implementing, and reviewing academic policies and programs including the education, research, and clinical missions of TTUHSC EI Paso. The Office of the President coordinates activities of academic deans and directors and informs and advises the chancellor on academic matters.

The president oversees and has responsibility for all TTUHSC El Paso organizational units listed below, with the exception of the Chancellor's Division.

V. **Organizational Units.** The organizational units of TTUHSC El Paso are as follows:

- A. Chancellor's Division (Chancellor)
- B. President's Division (President)
- C. Clinical Administration (Vice President/Chief Clinical Administrative Officer)
- D. Finance & Administration (Vice President/Chief Financial Officer)
- E. Operations (Vice President/Chief Operating Officer)
- F. Outreach and Community Engagement (Vice President)
- G. Academic Affairs (Vice President)
- H. L. Frederick Francis Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (Dean)
- I. Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (Dean)
- J. Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing (Dean)
- K. Woody L. Hunt School of Dental Medicine (Dean)
- L. Research (Vice President)
- M. Information Technology (Vice President/CIO/ISO)
- N. Institutional Compliance (Vice President)
- O. Institutional Advancement (Vice President)
- P. Faculty Success (Vice President)
- Q. Human Resources (Vice President)
- VI. **TTUHSC EI Paso Academic Administration.** TTUHSC EI Paso is led by the president. A vice president for academic affairs (VPAA) provides leadership for institution-wide academic matters. Each school is administered by a dean and staff, and faculty are assigned to each. The VPAA and deans serve in their administrative roles without tenure at the pleasure of the president and may be removed without cause. The Paul L Foster School of Medicine, Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing, Woody L. Hunt School of Dental Medicine and the L. Frederick Francis Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences are organized into instructional departments or divisions administered by Chairpersons.

Department chairpersons are appointed by the dean of the appropriate school with input from the president. They serve in their administrative roles without tenure at the pleasure of the dean and may be removed without cause. The dean annually evaluates the performance of chairpersons; reappointment as chairperson may be recommended.

Each department chairperson, in cooperation with the faculty, is responsible for supervising the activities of the department, preparing the department budget requests, initiating requests for salary increases, recommending tenure and promotion, initiating appointment recommendations, and developing curricula.

VII. **TTUHSC El Paso Organization Chart.** An organization chart reflecting the senior leadership and reporting relationship of TTUHSC El Paso is provided as Attachment A.